Prof. Dr. Mariele Evers

Professorship for Geography, focus on Ecohydrology and Water Resources Management at the University of Bonn

Executive Director of the Institute of Geography at the University of Bonn

Chair UNESCO-Chair in Human-Water-Systems

Avatar Evers

Prof. Dr. Mariele Evers


Meckenheimer Allee 172

53115 Bonn

+49 228 73-3526

Next office hours of Prof. Dr. Evers on:
January 10 from 10:00 to 11:00 a.m.

To register, please sign in at the following link:


Curriculum vitae

Since 2021: Lehrstuhlinhaberin UNESCO-Chair in Human-Water-Systems

Since 2021: Geschäftsführende Direktorin des Geographischen Instituts der Universität Bonn

2016 - 2018: Prodekanin für Lehre und Studium der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Bonn

Since 2013: Professorin für Geographie, Schwerpunkt Ökohydrologie und Wasserressourcenmanagement an der Universität Bonn

2011: Professorin für Allgemeine Geographie/Mensch-Umwelt-Forschung an der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal

2009 - 2018: Gastprofessorin an der Universität Karlstad, Schweden

2008/2009: Gastprofessur am Asian Institute of Technology in Bangkok/Thailand

2008-2011: Juniorprofessorin an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg für Nachhaltige Landschaftsentwicklung

2004 - 2008: Verwaltungsprofessur an der Fachhochschule Nordostniedersachen/Fachbereich Wasserwirtschaft


Promotion an der Universität Hannover (Betreuung durch Prof. Dr. Christina von Haaren und Prof. Dr. Michael Abbott/TU Delft) zum Thema „Decision Support Systems for Integrated River Basin Management“
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in Forschungsprojekten zu Flussgebietsmanagement und Entwicklung internationaler Studiengänge

Tätigkeit in Ingenieurbüro für Umweltplanung

Weiterbildungsstudiengang Multimedia-Informatik an der Fachhochschule Nordostniedersachsen
Studium der Geographie in Münster, Bonn und Montpellier (Frankreich)

  • Member of the Jury of 100 of the Frontiers Planet Prize
  • Since 2020: Member of the Advisory Board of the Erasmus program MSc Flood Risk Management / IHE Delft Institute for Water Education.
  • Since 2018: Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of the German National Committee of the International Hydrological Programme of UNESCO (UNESCO-IHP) and the Hydrology and Water Resources Programme of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO-HWRP).
  • 2016 - 2020: Member of the scientific advisory board of the Fachgemeinschaft hydrologischen Wissenschaften (FgHW).
  • Member of the extended presidium of the German Hydrological Society (DHG).
  • Since 2018: Member of the advisory board of the HochwasserKompetenzCentrum (HKC).
  • Since 2020: Member of the scientific advisory board of the West African Science Service Centre (WASCAL)
  • Member of the European network AcademiaNet of outstanding female scientists [proposed by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation] [] 
  • International Advisor of the National Water Resource Council of Myanmar
  • Member Academy for Spatial Research and Planning (ARL) (Leibniz Society)
  • Association of Geographers at German Universities (VGDH)
  • Member of the scientific advisory board of the journal Natur & Landschaft, published by the German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)

 Expert activities for e.g. 

  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • Volkswagen Foundation
  • German Academic Exchange Service
  • Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • Central Evaluation and Accreditation Agency (ZEVA)

Peer reviewer at a.o.:

  • specialty Chief Editor Water and Human Systems of the Journal Frontiers in Water
  • Hydrology and Earth System Sciences (HESS)
  • Journal of Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., Copernicus
  • Journal of Environmental Modelling & Software, Elsevier Publishers
  • Journal of Environmental Management, Elsevier Publishers
  • Journal Water Resources Management, Springer Verlag

Teaching Awards

Professor of the Year Award 2018



Award for:

3rd place in the natural sciences/medicine category, selected by jury from more than 1,600 nominations. The competition is organized by the UNICUM Foundation and is under the patronage of the German Federal Ministries of Education and Research and of Economic Affairs and Energy. Link

Teaching Award for Outstanding Professorial Teaching or Special Services to Teaching at the University of Bonn 2015



Award for:

Teaching Award for Outstanding Professorial Teaching or Special Services to Teaching at the University of Bonn 2015

Leuphana University of Lüneburg Teaching Award 2010



Award for:

Leuphana University of Lüneburg Teaching Award

Wird geladen